Assembling of wall murals

To hang wall murals you don’t need special skills and specific instruments. Assembling of wall murals differs little from assembling of ordinary wallpapers. Prepare instruments, adhesive and walls and then start to hang wall murals.

High-quality wall murals

Core features of professional wall murals:
- high density of material (300 g/m²);
- edge-to-edge hanging;
- the most exact matching of joints of an image laid on and a strip relief.

Surface preparation

Wall murals should be installed on a prepared dry and firm surface. It must meet the following requirements:
- the wall should be puttied with gypsum putty. Latex and acrylic putties are not appropriate;
- treatment with deeply extending prime coat.

Remember that it is impossible to hang wall murals on a painted surface and old wallpapers.

Recommended air temperature for the adhesive, surface intended for wallpapers and premise is from +15 to +25 °C, relative air humidity is not more than 80%. Avoid draughts during the process of wall murals hanging and drying.

Instruments

When working with wall murals you will need:
- an applicator roll to lay adhesive on the very wall murals and a brush to lay adhesive on the wall;
- a wallpaper plastic palette-knife with the round dull edge for smoothing of wall murals;
- rigid plastic roller for rolling of edges and joints;
- clean wet sponge to remove excess adhesive.

Additionally keep close at hand: a ladder, a level and a plumb bob, a pencil, a metal ruler (around 1 m length) and a tape-measure, a wallpaper knife, scissors, and a towel for hands.

Hanging of wall murals

Before hanging put the photo wallpaper strips in the order in accordance with the layout.

Using a plumb bob or a level mark a vertical on the surface intended for wallpapers. Based on the size of one strip of wall murals and using a tape-measure mark an approximate place of a joint of the strips. Later it will help you to lay adhesive on the wall exactly across the width of the strip with a little overlap to the place of hanging of the next one.

Adhesive should be laid on the wall and wallpapers accurately with the use of a roller with fine pile. Avoid applying of great amount of adhesive and contact of adhesive to the front side of wall murals. Hang wallpapers right after you have laid adhesive on wall murals! Hang wall murals edge-to-edge. Avoid bends and creases on the strip.

Smooth strips of wall murals with a plastic palette-knife.

Important!
Roll the joints together very accurately using a roller (a roller for joints). Wipe the roller with a dry duster as often as possible to remove excess adhesive from its surface. When jointing put the strip so that the images on wall murals match together. Avoid contact of adhesive with the front side of wall murals. If it none the less has happened then it is not allowed to rub this place with a duster because the front side of wall murals can be damaged. Just wash off excess adhesive using a wet sponge and avoiding excessive rubbing.

Selection of adhesive

Selecting adhesive for wall murals take into consideration high density of photo wallpaper material (300 g/m²). To hang high-quality wall murals you need adhesive for fiberglass wallpapers, exclusive and heavy vinyl coating on paper or fabric substrate.

“Wall murals World”™ recommends Casco Lentus, Metylan Ovalit T dispersive adhesive or any other one with the same characteristics. Purchase ready-to-use adhesive. It should include PVAC and starch as compounds.

It is not allowed using adhesive in a form of dry mixtures because it doesn’t contain PVAC.

Important!

• Don’t use dusters and metal palette-knifes for smoothing of wall murals. They can damage the sheet.

• Remove excess adhesive using a wet sponge! A duster doesn’t fit for these purposes because the adhesive contains PVAC as a component and you should wash it off in literal sense, but not dry! Wall murals are moisture resistant, and they don’t fear moisture for that reason.

Поклейка фотообоев

Чтобы поклеить фотообои вам не нужны специальные навыки и специфические инструменты. Монтаж фотообоев мало чем отличается от монтажа обычных обоев. Подготовьте инструмент, клей и стены, а затем приступайте к поклейке фотообоев.

Качественные фотообои

Ключевые особенности профессиональных фотообоев:
- высокая плотность материала (300 гр./кв.м.)
- поклейка стык-в-стык
- максимально точное соответствие стыковки нанесенного изображения и рельефа полотна.

Подготовка стены

Монтаж фотообоев осуществляется на подготовленную сухую и прочную поверхность. Требования к поверхности:
- стена должна быть ошпаклевана гипсовой (!) шпатлевкой. Латексная и акриловая не подходят;
- обработка глубокопроникающей грунтовкой.

Помните, что поклеить фотообои на краску и старые обои невозможно.

Рекомендуемая температура воздуха для клея, оклеиваемой поверхности и помещения – от +15 до +25 °C, относительная влажность воздуха – не более 80%. Избегайте сквозняков в процессе оклейки и высыхания фотообоев.

Инструмент

При работе с фотообоями вам понадобятся:
- малярный валик для нанесения клея на сами фотообои и кисть для нанесения клея на стену;
- обойный пластиковый шпатель с закругленным тупым краем для разглаживания фотообоев;
- жесткий пластиковый валик для прокатки краев и стыков;
- чистая влажная губка для удаления излишков клея.

Также держите под рукой: лестницу, уровень и строительный отвес, карандаш, металлическую линейку (длиной около 1 м) и рулетку, обойный нож, ножницы, полотенце для рук.

Оклейка фотообоев

Перед оклейкой разложите полотна фотообоев по порядку в соответствии с макетом. На оклеиваемой поверхности отметьте вертикаль при помощи отвеса или нивелира. Ориентируясь на размер одного полотна фотообоев, при помощи рулетки отметьте примерное место стыковки полотен. Это поможет впоследствии наносить клей на стену точно по ширине полотна с небольшим заходом на место оклейки следующего.

Клей аккуратно наносится на стену и обои валиком с мелким ворсом. Избегайте использования большого количества клея и попадания клея на лицевую сторону фотообоев. После нанесения клея на фотообои сразу производите оклейку! Оклейка фотообоев происходит стык-в-стык. Избегайте перегибов и заломов полотна. Полотна фотообоев разглаживайте пластмассовым шпателем.

Важно!
Прикатывание стыков делайте очень аккуратно прокаточным роликом (валиком для стыков). Валик как можно чаще протирайте сухой тряпкой, чтобы убрать с его поверхности излишки клея. Во время стыковки сразу укладывайте полотно таким образом, чтобы совпадал рисунок фотообоев. Избегайте попадания клея на лицевую сторону фотообоев. Если это все-таки произошло, то нельзя тереть место стыка тряпкой, это может повредить лицевой слой фотообоев. Просто смойте излишек клея влажной губкой, избегая чрезмерного трения.

Выбор клея

Выбирая клей для фотообоев, учитывайте высокую плотность материала фотообоев (300 г/кв.м). Для поклейки качественных фотообоев необходим клей для стеклообоев, эксклюзивных и тяжелых виниловых покрытий на бумажной или тканевой основе.

ТМ «Мир фотообоев» рекомендует дисперсный клей Casco Lentus, Metylan Ovalit T или любой другой с такими же характеристиками. Покупайте уже готовый к применению клей, в его состав обязательно должен входить ПВА и крахмал. Клей в виде сухих смесей использовать нельзя – в его составе нет ПВА.

Внимание!

• Для разглаживания фотообоев не используйте тряпки и металлический шпатель, они могут повредить полотно.

• Удаляйте излишки клея влажной губкой! Тряпка не подойдет для этих целей, потому что клей в своем составе содержит ПВА, и его необходимо в буквальном смысле смывать, а не вытирать! Фотообои влагостойкие, поэтому влага им не страшна.